The Leaning City of Mexico…

So finally my lazy ass has gotten the photos of my Mexico City trip so it’s only fitting that this whole post including the songs are south of the Border. If your curious I have finally reached Amsterdam, and I’ll post all the little goodies about where I’m staying and so forth later. Mexico City, a wonder of confusing and interesting sites and sounds. The whole trip I just wondered what that place must have looked like before Cortez got there…must have been amazing. However, the earlier inhabitants did build the city on a marshy piece of land, and although they drained it, the Spanish drained it even more. The results of doing so plus multiple earth quakes are as follows:

Seriously, the Leaning Tower of Piza has nothing on the Churches of Mexico City. Tiz Crazy how unstable the buildings are and still people live in them. That’s another thing the locals call Montezuma’s revenge, the other is horrible crippling sickness from drinking the water. I didn’t get that, just a cold…lucky me.

Here I am infront of the Pyramid of the Sun. I climbed that mofo with my cold at 7,000 ft above sea level. Awesome:

We got around mostly by subway…which was awesome because it was only 2 pesos a ride…which is like 2 cents. I love goverment subsedised stuff. Here I am at a time where it isn’t a sardine can:

There are tons of beautiful parks there with awesome sculptures and I just had to do my own take on one I passed:

One more so this doesn’t become a boring slide show: I had to pay my respect to Diego and Frida.This one is in one of the palaces there. Outside, in Mexico City on a day that was like80 degrees there was ice skating. And the long line around the rink was not for skating, but for watching people skate.  You didn’t have to pay to skate, you had to pay to watch.

The tracks that I am posting I absolutely love.  I don’t know much about the band Babe Ruth except that this was the only track I could find of thiers, but its an awesome ballad and this video shows how crazy intense thier singer is:

Babe Ruth-The Mexican 

And one more Mexican themed track:

Sammy Barbot-Mexico 

Adios!

2 Comments

  1. Great shots! Where did you sat in D.F. I recently hit the Gran Melia in Mexico City, and def think its one of the better Mexico City Hotels…enjoy your journey

  2. Nice pics Ruby! Looks like you had a great time. 🙂


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

